The Quest

Yesterday evening I was trying to write a rhyming poem – I thought that perhaps couplets wouldn’t be too hard (I was wrong).  I think that I must mention that my rhyming abilities are potentially atrocious and horrid at best, so a rhyming dictionary was definitely a necessity. In the end, after much toil and effort, I came up with this:

 

Excuse me, said the right sock to the left,

But there seems to have been

A rather serious vehicle theft!

My shoe is gone, right sock proclaimed with much chagrin

I cannot find it, though I have looked – in east, in north, in south and west.

Well, left sock answered with a grin

May I suggest the age-old clue?

Look – it’s there in front of you.

I think I am in need of some practise.

Why don't you tell me what you think?

