Pottermore Problem

As a Pottermore Beta I was extremely excited to experience J.K. Rowling’s new material, view the gorgeous illustrations, and above all – have a wand choose me and get sorted. Sure, the site could be much more interactive, but they’ve added sound effects now, so it’s better, and there are some quite cool activities and really, really amazing artwork. Let’s also not forget that this opportunity is free, which is a bonus that many other websites don’t have – it doesn’t cost money to become a member. Did I mention the artwork?

I became a proud Ravenclaw and owner of a twelve and a quarter inch length wand with a unicorn hair core made of blackthorn wood. I didn’t particularly like the definition of my wood, but was very pleased about its length, especially considering that I am not very tall, as it means that I have a strong personality. However, it is also hard, which, while not as inflexible as rigid or unyielding, suggests that I am averse to change and do not adapt very well.

This is a screen shot of my wand as seen on my Pottermore profile. It also shows how many points I've earned to date.

For those of you interested, this was the description of blackthorn on Pottermore, according to Ollivander himself:

“Blackthorn, which is a very unusual wand wood, has the reputation, in my view well-merited, of being best suited to a warrior. This does not necessarily mean that its owner practises the Dark Arts (although it is undeniable that those who do so will enjoy the blackthorn wand’s prodigious power); one finds blackthorn wands among the Aurors as well as among the denizens of Azkaban. It is a curious feature of the blackthorn bush, which sports wicked thorns, that it produces its sweetest berries after the hardest frosts, and the wands made from this wood appear to need to pass through danger or hardship with their owners to become truly bonded. Given this condition, the blackthorn wand will become as loyal and faithful a servant as one could wish.”

Months passed, and no new content was added onto Pottermore, apart from Wizard’s Dueling being reopened. As such, there was nothing much to do, and as I do  (pause for gasp of astonishment) have a life (sort of), so I stopped going on the site, a very condition that was common among my friends. Every couple of weeks I might brew a potion, cast a couple of spells and check if Ravenclaw were winning, but that was it.

Then, last Monday, Pottermore finally opened to the public. Millions of people signed up, got sorted and started earning points and suddenly, there are more users in Slytherins than any other House (what does this about today’s society? There must be a lot of cunning, ambitious people out there.) and subsequently Slytherin House is now tens of thousands of points ahead of the other three houses (when it was just the Beta users, Slytherin and Ravenclaw would swap positions almost every day). I found myself in a position to re-experience Pottermore as a new user. This allowed me to do what I have wanted to try for a while now: to get resorted and have the opportunity to have my wand re-chosen. I promptly signed up three more times, and set off through the chapters once more, reveling at the enhancing effect of the sound.

Well, I got to Ollivander’s at Diagon Alley, and lo and behold! Different wands each time! I also managed to get into each of the four Houses of Hogwarts, to my amazement, since each time I did the quiz I got completely different questions and I told the truth – I did not purposefully try to get into a certain House. This indicates that either the test is somewhat rigged, or I personify some of the characteristics of all four Houses. I think that the most likely answer to this conundrum is the latter,  as people are made up of many different characteristics, and therefore could all probably be in any of the four Houses, as is exemplified throughout the Harry Potter books as characters display different qualities that are regarded as a symbol of a certain house.  The numbers in each House are, while not completely even, quite similar in size, especially considering the elephantine amount of people on the site – a couple of thousand users no longer makes such a huge difference any more – and this also supports the argument that people would be around evenly divided between the four Houses as they display qualities from all four but have a more dominant quality which changes the balance and places them in a House.

As such, as a Gryffindor, I now possess a Hazel wood 12 inch wand with a Unicorn Hair core which is quite supple,

as a Slytherin I have a hard Fir wood 12 1/2 inch wand with a Dragon Heartstring core,

and as a Hufflepuff, I own a Red Oak 12 1/4 inch wand with a Unicorn Hair core which is reasonably supple

The question is now, to which House do I really belong in?????

And the answer is, all of them, although I will only be keeping my original Beta account (Ravenclaw), despite liking all four Houses very much, and some wands more than others (I prefer my Slytherin and Hufflepuff wands to the others).

I’d love to hear from anyone else who has come to a different conclusion, or disagrees with me on a point, or would like to discuss anything.

Let’s Call Me Lily

2 thoughts on “Pottermore Problem

  1. saneasiam says:

    It might be, but then again, if you think about, don’t people pretty much even out themselves? And also, the numbers aren’t really equal, are they?? I mean, Ravenclaw has 405,145 members and Gryffindor 441,913 members – that’s quite a large difference.
    I think what’s more likely is that some members want to get into a certain house and so they manipulate the test rather than answering honestly.

  2. Jeyna Grace says:

    I think the sorting test is rigged. They want even numbers so they rigged it.

Why don't you tell me what you think?

