Regret is a Sad, Sad Thing

Ten thousand things that I could say to you,

All those words I never got to use,

Bursting through my mouth and out into the open.

 

Ten thousand things that I have never said to you,

Words of anger, of friendship and of woe;

How you looked as you gazed into the distance,

Watching and waiting for something only you could see.

 

Ten thousand things that I ought to say to you,

Confessions that I never made,

Advice and wise utterances that I read somewhere,

Simple statements which did not seem so important

Then, but now…

 

How I wish I could have hugged you one last time,

Complimented your atrocious sense of style,

And cooked you one last meal.

But most of all, I wish I had told just how much

You meant to me.

Because now all I can do, is whisper secrets to the air.

Why don't you tell me what you think?

