Ode To Aphrodite

That beauteous one,

She called out my name; whispered sweetly in my ear

Oh won’t you come away with me?

Join me in a sheltered glade

Bring scented roses red as red

And we shall dance

As dolphins do – with joy and mirth

And love.

 

But no! I cried

For I cannot, my heart is sworn to love no other

‘cept for she who lays here by my side

And I turned over in the bed

Unyielding as the oak

 

Only to dream of birds flocking,

Filling the sky

Sparrows and swans alike, whispering my name

luring me into enraptured bliss,

As in my dream I left my love, ran,

Into the arms of another

 

-Those of Aphrodite-

 

This dream I did not leave,

Till I was no longer young in flesh,

And when she left me,

With a winsome smile tossed back as

I existed that world

I returned. (To my former lover, who I found had not been waiting, but had left me in her memories as she

Loved another in my stead.)

Why don't you tell me what you think?

