Brave

Yesterday, I indulged and went to the cinemas to watch Brave, the new Pixar Animation film. I was really looking forward to it, because not only had I found the trailer exciting, but also because there were some of my much-loved actors performing. Emma Thompson (if you haven’t seen Strange Fiction, watch it! It’s brilliant, in my opinion), whom I love, as well as Julie Walters and Robbie Coltrane. Yes, they are all Harry Potter actors, in case you were wondering.

But the film proved to be a bit of a disappointment. I’m not talking about the Scottish accents, which I adore, or the absolutely AMAZING graphics – I heard there was a whole programme devoted to the hair in the film –

Can you imagine the time that must have taken??

The film was very aesthetic, and there were some great characters… but there just wasn’t any originality. I mean, yes, of course there was, there has to be, I’m sure it took them a long time to come up with it and everything, but there just wasn’t a spark. It felt a bit like Brother Bear take 2. The overbearing mother, the daughter who doesn’t want to marry and lose her freedom, the witch, the happy ending… all classic ingredients for a family-friendly film. They’re sometimes a bit over-used, as was the case here, in my opinion.

So, although it sounded like a great film, I came back a bit unsatisfied. This hasn’t been a great week for me, movie-wise.

However, I did watch Mrs Ratcliffe’s Revolution at home, a British film starring Catherine Tate as the protagonist about a family who moves into East Germany while communism is popular. It has some hilarious moments, as well as tackling issues like values, the worth of family, and the communist regime.

The movie poster for Mrs Ratcliffe’s Revolution

Why don't you tell me what you think?

