At A Loss For Words

My mother is currently reading “Maps and Legends” by Michael Chabon, and she just came across this word:

aetataureate

Have any of you come across this word? I haven’t and neither had my mother, so we quickly took to the dictionary to look it up. It wasn’t there. Therefore, we searched the word on google, and this is what came up:

aetataureatedefinition and meaning

14 Aug 2008 – aetataureate. Define; Relate; List; Discuss; See; Hear; Love.

aetataureatedefinition from Ninjawords (a really fast dictionary)

verb. °To treat, or conduct toward; to deal with; to use. °To treat with, or in respect to, a thing desired; hence, to ask earnestly; to beseech; to petition or pray with

Needless to say, we were both astounded by Chabon’s casual usage of the word – had he decided to make himself superior to normal English-speaking mortals by looking this word up in a thesaurus? Because what is wrong with just saying define, or to treat with, instead of aetataureate? It seems to me that they would work just fine, and have the added advantage of allowing his readers to understand what he is saying.

What are your thoughts?

2 thoughts on “At A Loss For Words

  1. Zen says:

    That is one weird word. I don’t understand the need for using difficult words in books when there are much simpler and commonly known alternatives. I know I would hate to stop reading something just so I can look up a definition in a dictionary. =/

    • I concur. I suppose some would argue that it broadens your vocabulary, but what is the use of unpronouncable, unusable words? I mean, can you imagine someone saying aetataureate in casual conversation? Because I can’t.

Why don't you tell me what you think?

