Limerick

The ship was ready to set sail;

The chefs had all stocked up on their ale.

Passengers began to board

“My Lady” – for no ship is a Lord

But oh dear, oh no! The sailors suddenly began to bail!

 

I wrote this during my History class the other day for a ‘seaside and sailor’ limerick competition (I’d finished the assignment), only to realise you had to be part of a poetry community. It’s my first limerick, and I don’t really like it, but oh well.

Why don't you tell me what you think?

