Birthday Salutations!

This is for you, birthday celebrators of the 30th and 31st of July

Yesterday was the 30th of July here in NZ, and Neville Longbottom’s birthday! Today was the 31st of July, and it was J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and Richard Griffith’s birthday, as well as the one year anniversary of the beginning of the magical journey to Pottermore – the creation of the quest to find the magical Pottermore Quill. A chock-full of glorious things to celebrate. Coincidentally, it has also been exactly 4 months since I shaved my hair off to fundraise for the Leukaemia and Blood Cancer Society of New Zealand. My hair has been growing extremely quickly – it is quite a dark brown (it hasn’t had the chance to lighten yet, as the winter sun doesn’t get to it often), very thick (I’m heading into the afro stage soon) and just over 4 cm long!

So, to celebrate, my friends and I greeted each other with a Deathly Hallows high-five, a “Happy Harry Potter Day!” (If you remember, in Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, in The Boy Who Lived Professor McGonagall says “…I wouldn’t be surprised if today was known as Harry Potter Day!” and we decided that it should be his birthday, not the night Voldemort murdered his parents ), and spent the day doodling inspirational quotes when we should have been learning maths.

I’d like to share a couple with you now:

Or rather, Tuesday!

“The stories we love best will live in us forever”
– J.K. Rowling

“It takes a great deal of courage to stand up to your enemies, but a great deal more to stand up to your friends”
– Albus Dumbledore, about Neville Longbottom

“You will never hurt any of them, ever again”
– Harry Potter, to Voldemort

“No post on Sundays…no damn letters today -“
-Vernon Dursley, to the Dursleys and Harry Potter

Oh, and look for my owl on the weekend – I’ll be watching the opening ceremony of the Olympics with a friend…I hear there was a giant Voldemort float, and a Rowan Atkinson skit…I can’t wait!

Why don't you tell me what you think?

