A Side Note

There was one small thing that disappointed me (apart from Rupert Grint (played Ronald Weasley in the HP series, amongst other things) not being in the montage of people running with the Olympic torch – he did – watch this video to hear him talk about it) in the 2012 Olympics Opening Ceremony.

Rupert holding the Olympic Torch on Day 68 of the relay

What I missed was an integral part of British TV – a programme that has been going on for 49 years – Doctor Who. There was no Tardis!!! I have to say, I definitely thought there’d be at least one mention, maybe something incorporated into the music even (the Tardis’ landing noise is pretty distinctive), but there wasn’t. 😦 Oh well, one can’t have everything.

The Tardis in space

Was there something that any of you felt should have been at the opening ceremony? Someone, maybe?

Feel free to share,

Let’s call me Lily

5 thoughts on “A Side Note

  1. rantsandmorerants says:

    As a Brit I thought the Opening Ceremony respresented a lot of things which Britain has to be proud of as well a historic and cultural background. I can’t say I’m overly bothered by no mention of Doctor Who, but I do think you make a good point! Who knows whats in store for the Closing Ceremony?

  2. The TARDIS was there! You missed it! I think it was in the Bohemian Rhapsody dancing part. There was also an eleven Doctors video montage piece put together, but it was cut for time (or something).

Why don't you tell me what you think?

