Olympics Opening Ceremony 2012

Saturday has arrived, at long last!!!

First of all, I’d like to apologise, because I wrote a blog entry on Tuesday, and was ready to post it, when I accidentally deleted the document it was on. So I had to start again. So I did. However, the second time, I managed to get it onto wordpress, and was just about to publish it, but… the computer didn’t let me, for some reason. And it wouldn’t allow me to save the post either. I was extremely frustrated, and as a result still haven’t re-written the post. It shall happen sometime soon though, I promise.

Secondly, and more importantly – I just watched the Olympics Opening Ceremony of 2012!!!! Although my friend and I decided unanimously to skip the ‘countries entering’ part, as it is said to be tiresome and rather boring.

There were some definite highlights of the ceremony. Firstly, at the start, the ‘James Bond’ parachuting was pretty awesome – although it must have been scary actually doing it! Personally, I thought I spied Stephen Fry as the school teacher of the kids in yellow hats who were having a tour in the Buckingham Palace, but I’m not sure – can anyone confirm this? The set was amazing, and all the little tid-bits the commentators told, such as that there were 695 drummers, and they had been rehearsing for a YEAR, and were mostly volunteers, added to my amazement. I congratulate Danny Boyle – the music was really brilliant. However, the Queen didn’t look too happy whenever the camera focussed on her – she didn’t smile once!

Then, at the Industrial Revolution stage of the parade, Kenneth Branagh entered as Isambard Kingdom Brunel (an English mechanical and civil engineer who built bridges and dockyards,as well as other things like the Great Western Railway) and quoted Caliban in The Tempest by Shakespeare:

Be not afear’d. The isle is full of noises,
Sounds and sweet airs that give delight and hurt not.
Sometimes a thousand twangling instruments
Will hum about mine ears, and sometime voices
That, if I then had waked after long sleep,
Will make me sleep again; and then, in dreaming,
The clouds methought would open, and show riches
Ready to drop upon me, that when I waked,
I cried to dream again.
The Tempest 3.2.148-156

It was very cool. Then came J.K. Rowling in a surprise appearance as she read a quote from J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan to the children from G.O.S.H., the Great Ormond Street Hospital, which celebrated their 160th anniversary. in 1929 GOSH was donated the rights of Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie. The link below is the only one I could find with the video of her speech still intact, as many have been removed for copyright reasons.

see-jk-rowling-read-a-story-at-the-london-olympi?sub=1693940_469511

A giant Voldemort float, some Childsnatchers from Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and the Red Queen from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland appeared, and were finally defeated by Hundreds of Mary Popins’, who floated down with their umbrellas. Voldemort was enormous, almost 60 feet high I’m told, and looked very intimidating.

Another highlight was the hilarious performance of Rowan Atkinson as Mr. Bean, as he played along with the orchestra and tried to text and blow his nose at the same time. Again, youtube clips had been removed or were just ‘spam’, so unfortunately there is no video of him here. Good luck if you try to search the web; maybe your skills are better than mine! Incidentally, I found out that there will be a Blackadder reunion sometime soon! Rowan Atkinson revealed on twitter that he is returning for a final episode of the BBC One historical comedy, alongside a number of the original cast members.

He wrote: “One can share that there may be a blackadder reunion, what do you all think about that?”

He later added: “The return of Blackadder will be cunning and exquisite. I can confirm, there will be one last episode of Blackadder, a reunion.”

The series – which ran for four seasons – starred Rowan as anti-hero Edmund Blackadder and Tony Robinson as his dogsbody, Baldrick. Each series was set in a different historical period with the two protagonists accompanied by different characters. My family owns three of the movies, and they are all hilarious. I look forward to seeing Edmund once more.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Lastly, after the the rest of the show and the parades of the athletes, and the really spiffing (simply corking) fireworks, came another personal highlight – Sir Paul McCartney, the last remaining Beatle, sang Hey Jude! The video below is him, but it’s a couple of years old.

Just a question, which isn’t meant to offend or anything like that. Does anyone but me think that his facial features are quite effeminate? Or am I delusional?

So, those were my highlights of the Olympics Opening Ceremony of 2012. What were yours? And, if you actually attended, how much could you actually see? Because the stadium looked immense, and I don’t think everyone bought binoculars!

Enjoy your weekend,

Let’s call me Lily

Why don't you tell me what you think?

