Sherlock Holmes: My Detective’s Plight

Well, not exactly.

But I recently watched Iron Man (amazing technology, cool action sequences, and a smashing film –  why does my mum not like superhero films? It means that I haven’t seen the dozens of versions of Spiderman or Batman or things like that 😦 I missed out on quite a bit, it seems. Although, I was very annoyed that Stark, played by Robert Downey Jr. [ooh, Eddard Stark, Arno Stark, and lets see – Eddard gets stripped of everything, including his precious honour and dignity, and Arno Stark gets stripped of his beliefs. Seeing something in the name here?] only changes his mind when he sees what his weapons can do in the hands of the enemy – apparently it doesn’t matter as long as it’s not an American getting hurt. That made me mad) and Sherlock Holmes: A Game Of Shadows (Which I also really liked, especially with its superb last act, involving a convulated chess game, absolutely brilliant camera shots as thought processes, and a hilarious ending. Although the Holmes ‘thinking war machine’ sequences did get a bit tiresome, as they were overused in my opinion. Also, throwing the newly married Mrs. Watson off the train and the not-very-subtle, could-be-seen-as-homoerotic scene that followed were funny too. Very good film, with a great score and actors like Downey Jr. and Jude Law and Stephen Fry [nude and naturalistic Mycroft Holmes (???), but with strategically placed books on set, so don’t worry], I nonetheless will say that it should not be seen if you are expecting a straight-cut adaptation of the books by Conan Doyle, as they are somewhat completely different styles.).

So, if you managed to read through that paragraph/one sentence of many lines (I like brackets, and use them copiously, as you can see), I will now tell you what it was leading up to. First of all, it was my way of stating my opinion shortly on two movies without actually having to review or analyse them (I hate doing that). Secondly, both films had Robert Downey Jr., whom I admire as an actor immensely, as he’s rather good at it, and he does all his own stunts – impressive, right? Um.. I digress.

Anyway, what I’ve noticed about myself is that after I’ve watched a good movie (or any movie really) I go on the internet immediately and start looking up the actors and the movie reviews and so on. As a result, I know that Susan Downey is Robert’s second wife, that his first wife kept her maiden name, that Mrs. Downey was the producer of Sherlock Holmes: A Game Of Shadows, and that Robert has a 19 year old son and a 1 year old son. Which is a bit odd.

I’m wondering, does anyone have this compulsive impulse to know about the movies and actors you see on screen? Or is it just my peculiarity?

Do answer,

Let’s call me Lily

Why don't you tell me what you think?

