A Doubly Doomed Dilemma

The nerve-wracking month of September has almost arrived. And with, it the exams loom. Terrifyingly. Especially since I haven’t gotten “off my fat arse” (guess where the paraphrased quote is from!) and started studying yet. I’m hopeless. truly I am.

But what is also yelling in my ear at the moment, apart from all the subjects that I need to revise for, is my Senior Course Booklet. That’s right, ladies and gentlemen, it is time to decide what I want my future to be like! So far, I’m going good…. I’ve decided I want to go to a University of some sort. And I’ve managed to narrow my subjects down to, oh, a really small amount. I just have to half the number – and then I’m done.
Which basically means (if you didn’t read this with a strain of cynicism/sarcasm – what exactly is the difference between the two?) that I can’t decide, and I don’t know what I’m going to do. At all.

The subjects I am considering are as follows:

Social Sciences

History

Art History

Classical Studies

Sustainability (which crosses over with the science faculty)

Sciences

  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Earth and Space Science

Arts

  • Media Studies
  • Practical Art

Languages

  • French

The subjects I’ve decided I am definitely going to take are Maths and English.

So I have to pick another four out of the above list. And I really, really can’t. Thus far, all the advice I’ve gotten has been biased and completely different from anybody else’s. Yet they all tell me to do what I’m good at and what I’m interested in. Yet ALL those are subjects I am interested in, and I do pretty well in all the subjects I take right now. Which causes a big problem.

I’m wondering whether any of you can help me to decide. I’d love to hear about your high school subject experiences, or what you do at University and how fascinating you find it. Because I really have to decide, and I figured that with such a massive amount of people who can potentially comment and provide advice, I would be stupid not to write a plea for help on WordPress.

Your thoughts, opinions and advice will be very much appreciated, I assure you

Please help!

Let’s call me Lily

Why don't you tell me what you think?

