The Hobbit News

First of all, happy Tolkien Week!! And a very happy (belated) birthday to Bilbo and Frodo Baggins, who are assumed to have been born on the 22 of September.

Well, there’s some good news, and some bad news.

The good news is that The Hobbit’s new trailer is out, and it looks great! Martin Freeman’s voice is really distinctive, and we get some more stunning views, as you can see below…

The bad news is that, although the world premiere for The Hobbit is right on my doorstep (a 10 hour-ish drive) in Wellington, it’s NOT OPEN TO THE PUBLIC!!!!!!!! 😦

I found this out after excitedly scouring google, news articles and Hobbit fansites, anticipating the moment where I could say to my mum that yes, it was financially possible to go, and immediately afterwards ring my good friend and fellow LOTR-fan to say that we could take her along.

I was, therefore, understandably devastated. And left very confused. Because I thought that the point of a premiere is that it is the first time a movie is viewed by THE PUBLIC. It appears I was wrong. (My mum suggested I write a letter in protest of this unjust treatment. I’m doing this instead)

So it appears that I’ll be watching The Hobbit in Auckland after all. I am, however, still looking forward to watching it. Are you?

The other Hobbit news is the Title debate, which you can read about here. Personally, I think all of the leaked possible titles are a bit…wrong, somehow.

  • The Desolation of Smaug
  • The Battle of Five Armies
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug
  • The Hobbit: Battle of Five Armies

The first two are out, because I reckon that if you start with The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, and end with The Hobbit: There and Back Again, the middle one has to be The Hobbit:…

And as for the other two, they sound a bit pretentious, in my opinion. Maybe they were all leaked on purpose and are all false. like J.K. Rowling did for “The Doomsday Tournament”? But what do you think? I’m sure there are a lot of people who have completely different ideas.

And that’s the news.

3 thoughts on “The Hobbit News

  1. Sammy Simpers says:

    I consider Lord of the Rings to be among the finest cinematic achievements in motion picture history. As for The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, the closest approximation is The Phantom Menace. I liked The Phantom Menace back in May 1999 and I still do (in defense of… ). But I now know exactly how those who disliked or hated Episode One felt on that fateful evening 12.5 years ago. I feel your pain, for now it is my pain as well.-

    Our own website
    <'http://www.healthmedicinecentral.com/chest-pain-after-eating/

    • I haven’t seen The Phantom Menace, so I’m not quite sure what you’re talking about, sorry! However, I think I’ve been mellowing out a little, as when I first see a movie I tend to be a little over critical (also, my friends’ responses were much better than mine, so I”ve been buoyed up with their excitement) So all is not lost!

  2. […] On another note, it has been decided that the second movie in The Hobbit trilogy will be called The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. So I was half right in my previous guess, which you can see here. […]

Why don't you tell me what you think?

