You Must Be Mr Palmer?

My family has a Tuesday habit, because on Tuesdays, the video store has a $1 a movie day…which is why it’s always packed on that day. Back in primary school, when I didn’t have so much homework (and wasn’t so invested in it either), almost every week we’d go out and choose a couple of movies. As my dad doesn’t like horror, and my parents don’t generally watch Superhero movies, I haven’t seen those, but stuff like Disney?? My first words in English were at the age of, say 2-ish?, and they were “move out” (P.S. Watch Mulan if you don’t know what this means. WATCH MULAN!!!) I named our first two cats Move Out, and Move Out 2. So, I am quite well versed in some areas, but not so much in others (just like the way I read…hmm).

Anyway, I’m not quite sure how it happened, but somehow during those visits we picked out and I watched Stardust, and Mirrormask, and I really LOVED Stardust, and I thought that MirrorMask was very interesting, with absolutely awesome-weird-intriguing art in it, and that was it…

Then, I think I realised that it (Stardust) was a movie based on a book, and so I read Stardust. And I really really liked it very much. I think that the next book I read was The Graveyard Book, and then I saw Coraline (without my dad) and read that, and then read Crazy Hair to my little sister and enjoyed it and (as at the time my hair was very long and constantly tangled, though not as long and tangled as the girl’s in the book) commiserated with it, and then I came across part of The Graveyard book in a short story anthology called “Dark Alchemy”, which lists all the author’s other notable works, and things kind of rolled on from there.

Or maybe my good friend introduced him to me in intermediate?

I just don’t remember.

But the point is, at some stage of my life, I read something that Neil Gaiman wrote. And I thought it was great. And so I read some more.

Now, when I’ve read almost all his books and am currently avidly drowning myself in The Sandman (which is not that sandman that is a villain/hero person who turns to sand in the DC comics like I thought for ages and ages (years). He is Murphy, Morpheus, the Lord of Dreams, one of the Endless…he has many names, but he is not that guy!) while eating breakfast while trying not to burn the toast and miss the bus, because internal assignments suck, I feel justified in squizzing at his blog now and then. I enjoy reading about the authors of books that I like – knowing the context which the author feels necessary and/or something they want to pass on about why/how they wrote the book attracts me…probably because I always read the foreword and prologue author’s notes and the “about the author” back flap which is sometimes boring but usually witty and slightly strange, like Terry Pratchett’s, and all those other additional notes and bits and pieces. So, then, if what I’ve read interested me (which is why I knew about how Ursula Le Guin made most of her books about dark-skinned people because the majority of the population is dark skinned which is why most of her books don’t have people on the cover illustrations, and Anne McAffrey, who first started writing to change the way females in science fiction were depicted, even before I decided to study them for English, or possibly because I knew I chose them) I look them up an read a bit more about them. But I don’t like intruding into personal spaces, especially of people whom I admire/whose works I admire, even if they post it to the world, because sometimes what you post to the world is more private than what you don’t. So I try not to – I don’t have twitter for that reason.

Also, I have a couple of friends who, in my opinion, can take it rather too far, and I really don’t want to become like them in that respect, because while enjoying a book/artwork/group/author is fine, and sharing that interest is definitely great and encouraged, if you ‘fangirl’ enough, to such extents, that people literally do not want to talk to you at all about that subject, and leave when you start harping on/screeching excitedly/etc, etc, it means that the limit has been reached and passed.

But I do like knowing things. So I read bits, and look people up every once in a while and check what I’ve missed. Which is how I came across these two things:

Firstly, Neil Gaiman is doing a new Project with Blackberry Keep Moving, called “A Calendar of Tales”, the first part of which was to get twitterers (so yes, I do miss out on things 😦 But still, the cons outway the pros) to answer questions about each month and for Gaiman to create a story about each month using an answer given…to create a calendar of tales. That part is done, and there is a free link to download his twelve stories, here.

The next part is open to everyone – we get to create art, take a photo of it/scan it and post it up on the site, and in the end, some artworks will be chosen to create a real calendar, which will I think then be sold/given out with Blackberry’s new product (something will happen to it). Which is SO COOL!! There is some amazing stuff up there already.

Secondly, Neil Gaiman has a wife. Her name is Amanda Palmer. Apparently, she is a legend among some people – I only discovered what it is she actually is/does about an hour ago. Gaiman posted a clip of her very recent TED presentation, which is really fantastic and talks about very pertinent things in our lives, like asking, and about the music industry.

The Art of Asking

Posted by Neil Gaiman at 4:59 AM

 “In a day and a half over half a million people have watched this talk, at the TED website and on YouTube.”
(the title is a direct quote taken from this post as well)
Which I watched, and thought was very poignant (I also tried to place her voice, as it sounded very familiar, and finally figured that she reminds me of the actress Scarlett Johanson, for some reason).
Of course, then I went and checked out some of her music – this is the first song that came out, and I like her style, and her tune, and her lyrics.

 

Then I found Amanda Palmer’s blog which is also quite spectacular in and of itself, seeing as she’s had it for over 10 years. And firstly I was struck by how different the style between her blog posts and Neil’s blog posts are.

And then I decided to post about this.

(Now, I’m going to do that damn assignment and get it out of my life)

Why don't you tell me what you think?

