Darkness, Be Not Afraid

Darkness, before you showed your face,

I did not mind the elaborate disguise.

Be not anxious or wary when reaching out

For always will I catch hold, and never again will I surmise.

 

Darkness, when you come

Ghosting through cracks between my door

To fill my room with your voice of plum

I will welcome you through bleary blink of my eyes.

 

Darkness, after you have left,

And the sunlight has sheepishly crept in

I confess I sometimes linger for a while longer

Blanket over head, tucked in chin.

Why don't you tell me what you think?

