Bros and Giggles

“Yes! It’s me and Robert! Look at this! There’s thousands of them!” Ruffalo tried to contain himself. “It’s called the Science Bros. This is awesome. I’ve never heard of it. Why hasn’t anyone told me about that?”

-Mark Ruffalo, upon first seeing the Science Bros internet phenomena

For a fuller and more hilarious comment, look here for the complete Vulture interview

Yesterday, I was doing some physics, got bored, and so decided to google “science bros”, as I wanted to know what type of stuff is up on the internet right now…

First thing that comes up was the interview above, which had me giggling and admiring Mark Ruffalo’s enthusiasm, as well as his immediate captioning of images. Then, I just had to see what type of stuff came up as gifs and images, so I hopped on tumblr, and was bombarded with a slew of everything Science Bros…and quote a bit of Sherlock and Watson, for some reason?

So I thought I should show some evidence of my foray – here a few of my favourites, including the after credits scene of Iron Man 3

Enjoy!

On The Relationship Between Tony Stark and Bruce Banner

“One of the first things Robert said when we were meeting about the movie was “There’s no way Tony Stark gets in a room with Bruce Banner and doesn’t poke him”. There’s no way. He wants to see it happen, he wants to see how that guy works. And that is not only true, not only ended up in the movie but ultimately informs their entire arc, which is one of my favourite things in the movie. The idea that Tony Stark is not intimidated by the concept of the Hulk and, in fact, thinks that Bruce needs to embrace his inner Hulk as it were, sounds like pure classic Tony irresponsibility and in fact it is you know what save us all because and ultimately what saves Tony because he allows Bruce to…he sets him up and lets him gets to the place where he can decide to be the Hulk.”

– Joss Whedon on the Avengers Blu-Ray commentary

If you've seen Iron Man 3, you will get this image. If not, just imagine annoying kid + Tony trying to get Bruce to Hulk.

If you’ve seen Iron Man 3, you will get this image. If not, just imagine annoying kid + Tony trying to get Bruce to Hulk.

I forgot about Igor too! Another one of Tony's fleet of robots, Igor has this spinal support system that means he can become a supporting wall and stop buildings from collapsing...as happens in Iron Man 3, after a fashion.

I forgot about Igor too!!!!! Another one of Tony’s fleet of robots, Igor has this spinal support system that means he can become a supporting wall and stop buildings from collapsing…as happens in Iron Man 3, after a fashion.

Have You Heard About Tumblr?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The After-Credit Scene of Iron Man 3

Can you imagine this happening? Because I can totally imagine Tony dragging Bruce to hide with him and 'do science' as a way to hide from Pepper and the dreaded paperwork... by ecokitty d5e1lo5

Can you imagine this happening? Because I can totally imagine Tony dragging Bruce to hide with him and ‘do science’ as a way to hide from Pepper and the dreaded paperwork…
by ecokitty d5e1lo5

This is just really well drawn...I wish I could draw like that! by petitpotato d574ewu

This is just really well drawn…I wish I could draw like that!
by petitpotato d574ewu

I love how you can see Bruce and Tony's expressions change in a miniscule way in each frame - very cool drawing! by sensei d5bofcc

I love how you can see Bruce and Tony’s expressions change in a miniscule way in each frame – very cool drawing!
by sensei d5bofcc

I hadn’t seen this before – I think it must be an Avengers deleted scene or something? I don’t quite know what it’s doing in the science bros section either, but I like it!

I just had to put this in, its the second after credits scene on The Avengers. This was filmed about 18 months after the rest of the film was shot, and that's why Chris Evans is hiding his face from the camera. I couldn't find the whole thing, but at some stage you can see that Bruce steals some chips off Tony's plate...and Thor eats an ENORMOUS bite of hamburger.

I just had to put this in, it’s the second after credits scene on The Avengers, with the team eating ‘shawarma’ and chips. This was filmed about 18 months after the rest of the film was shot, and that’s why Chris Evans (Captain America) is hiding his face from the camera. I couldn’t find the whole thing, but at some stage you can see that Bruce steals some chips off Tony’s plate…and Thor eats an ENORMOUS bite of hamburger.

Why don't you tell me what you think?

