W.A.R.P. (Why Are Rams [in this book] Please??)

Over the holidays, I  took out W.A.R.P.: The Reluctant Assassin, the latest book by Eoin Colfer, and the beginning of another series, from the library.

“​The reluctant assassin is Riley, a Victorian boy who is suddenly plucked from his own time and whisked into the twenty-first century, accused of murder and on the run.

Riley has been pulled into the FBI’s covert W.A.R.P. operation (Witness Anonymous Relocation Program). He and young FBI Agent Chevie Savano are forced to flee terrifying assassin-for-hire Albert Garrick, who pursues Riley through time and will not stop until he has hunted him down. Barely staying one step ahead, Riley and Chevie must stay alive and stop Garrick returning to his own time with knowledge and power that could change the world forever.”

Personally, I felt like I was tromping through knee-high, damp grass while reading this book. While a light read, with a simple plot and straightforward characters, it took a much longer time to finish than I had expected, mainly because I just was not interested. It didn’t strike me as exciting – in fact, halfway through, I was just about ready to give up.

And then…I saw the name Battering Rams. And I thought to myself (what a wonderful world! [no, I really didn’t]), what is an Airman gang/crew/thing doing here? Airman is one of Colfer’s earlier novels, and I like it much better than some of the more recent stuff that he’s written, so I decided to read the whole thing, piqued by the mention.
Well, that’s it, really. A mention. Colfer could have used any other name in the world to achieve exactly the same effect, because there is nothing crucial about having the gang be the Battering Rams here – they needn’t have been lifted from the Airman universe at all!

So you could say that I found the book a disappointment. And you’d be right.
However, from what I’ve been hearing, it’s a complete sell-out and everybody loves it! If you’re one of these people, I am open to debate; why don’t you try to persuade me into liking the novel?

In anticipation,
Let’s call me Lily

Why don't you tell me what you think?

