Gather ‘Round, For I’ll Sing You a Tale…

A gift from my mother,

This slackening tongue; for she taught me

To use it, rather than lose it.

She never expected that it

Was because of the first that the second would come.

But my wit I had gained from a life on the road,

So leapt I and escaped, and suffered not

That which was writ’ for me within the code.

I was chased,  but I scarpered,

And sing I this tale

To-night for some food, and a swig of ale;

Using my tongue, a gift from my mother

To stay my hunger for the night.

Why don't you tell me what you think?

