Comic Con From A Distance

Unfortunately, I don’t have ready access to a plane and a couple of grand, so I was not in San Diego for the comic con that tumblr fandom communities have been raving over (I heard this from my friends. I have not yet succumbed to the lure of gifs, reasoning that I would most likely embarrass  myself and spend hours and hours and never get anything done even more so than now).

However, my above friends told me about that handy website hypable, which had links to live blogs and summaries and such, and so I got a vicarious view into some of the goings on – yay!

So, as  result, I’ve seen the Marvel Panel (minus all the cool clips they saw, which aren’t allowed to be released) discuss Avengers 2 and Captain America 2 and The Guardians of the Galaxy (which I know nothing about) for an hour. I watched as Tom Hiddleston commandeered fans as Loki and turned them into a frenzied army, and I grinned in empathy as Karen Gillan (a.k.a. Amy Pond in Doctor Who) revealed her shiny bald head. I kinda wished that when I was bald, I’d worn wigs. Then I could throw them at my adoring crows and later ask for them back 🙂

So that was an hour of slightly confused fun!

I also found out what the real names of the movies are in a recap:

  • Captain America: Bewitcher of Souls
  • The Avengers: Age Of Ultron, in which the main antagonist for the film is Ultron (surprisingly!). Ultron is a criminally insane rogue sentient robot dedicated to conquest and the extermination of humanity.

Then, onto the BBC Sherlock fandom, where I discovered the top 10 things learnt, which included the fact that Moriarty was, indeed, DEAD, and that Moffat still claimed that an audience could work out what happened during the Fall with just the information given to them in the last scene. While I have not yet watched the Sherlock panel in the comic con, I intend to! Instead, I watched Martin Freeman and Benedict Cumberbatch’s (hilarious) messages as they apologised for not being able to be there, in a roundabout manner that included sarcasm and faked forgetfulness, as Freeman was in New Zealand filming, and Cumberbatch, it was later discovered, was officiating for a gay wedding.

I also giggled at the lovely “Sherlocked” and “Moffat!” shirts and mostly intelligent questions of fans, as well as the answers, at the very cool Sherlock Nerd HQ charity panel, which raised approximately $5,000, from what I remember.

Now, I’m a Whovian. But, as I’m very much behind on Doctor Who, only being up to episode 3 Season 5, when I took a glance at the panel of the Doctor Who Comic Con youtube video recording, I decided to follow the Doctor’s commonly said warning, and ran out of there, because of spoilers. So, I haven’t seen that. But someday, I will! I intend to catch up to everyone else before the New Zealand Armageddon, as there will definitely be some cast there, and I want to attend 🙂

Hopefully, you San Diegoans (San Diegonists?) had a great time.

– Let’s call me Lily

Why don't you tell me what you think?

