I Am A Leaf Blowing On The Winds of October

It’s the first of October: three days ago, Term 3 ended. Two days ago, my father and little sister flew over to Israel to visit the family. One day ago, my holidays officially started (I spent most of the day watching episodes of Firefly). Today, I finished watching Serenity, and can now say that I am a fan of the series, although I am heartbroken (metaphorically, as there was no purpose in the death) over Wash’s death.

Tomorrow I’ll be heading back to school for the first of several holiday workshops for various topics. I have a part-time job, and karate continues through the holidays…Apart from more freedom to watch movies, this isn’t feeling like much of a holiday! Today I vacuumed and mowed the lawns and hung up the laundry, then spent some time on the computer, went to work, came back after choosing some films with my mother, watched Serenity, and there you go, day over! Soon school will start again, and exams will devour my conscience until I succumb and start studying again. Next year will probably be busier, more full of panic and decisions and that most terrible beast, the future.

I’m not quite sure what the point is in all this.I’d like to find a job that I enjoy, but I don’t really know what I enjoy, apart from reading books and watching films, but I don’t think I suit the job of a film critic, on account for me not being very critical minded, and being an editor would probably bore me to death – rereading the same thing over and over again to try to catch every minuscule mistake? Not my mug of hot chocolate. It would be nice to be really good at something, to be given more of a direction to go in…

But for now, I am a leaf on the wind

Watch how I soar

See if I land

Why don't you tell me what you think?

