Fil-im Course

I woke up at 3AM. Bleargh. The bed is going to kill me. It’s large; a double at least, and I’m sure that it’s very extravagant and I’m very lucky to have a room to myself, but it’s also very soft, and my back has been killing me. I lay there in bed contemplating this fact until it was a decent hour to be awake, whereupon I went forth and got ready for the day. I went for a walk along the pier, which was lovely with a gorgeous band rotunda,  and then I wanted to go for a swim because the water looked so inviting, but there isn’t a real beach – it’s all slimy rocks that are covered in seaweed, and I couldn’t get past them without slipping. Had the first day of the ‘make-a-movie’ course…I hate improvs, I’ve realised; I find it incredibly hard to think of things on the spot.I’m okay at adding onto someone’s idea, but even then, sometimes not. My first day at the fil-im (that’s what it sounds like in an Irish accent; they extend it into two syllables) making course sucked, to be perfectly honest. Half of it was stuff that I already knew, like the 3 course structure (beginning, middle, end) and the other half was stuff that I could have very easily picked up along the way, for example how to use a camera (I learnt what the shots were and different angles in English and Media Studies at school, really). We watched some previous short films, and then did a couple of snippet-improvisations of our own to get the feel of following actors with a camera and how to get the different perspectives.
Then we had to decide on story ideas and pitch them to each other as 3 groups, and of course I couldn’t think of a single one, and so my group presented a half-baked idea on a a kidnapping. It was terrible. The other two groups didn’t have amazing ideas either, and now we’re stuck for the next of the week filming the “Invisibully”.
At least the view is nice.
After that, we went to see The Fault in our Stars, which made me cry (duh. I’m a sap), but we missed the first ten minutes (just like with Chef, I’ll have to find a way to clear that up) unfortunately, so Grace had already met Augustus, and they had just arrived at his house. I really loved how they incorporated the dialogue from the book without making it seem contrived. And of course, the characters were developed and yes, Augustus was Augustus.
Why don't you tell me what you think?

