Resolutely Not Sleeping

I left Auckland at 9:30AM NZ time, on Saturday. I flew to Brisbane, during which time the crew forgot to feed me for some reason. I heard a child say to their mother “next time, can we go by boat?”. In Brisbane, I waited for approximately 3 hours as my connection was slightly delayed. Then I flew to Singapore, after which I flew to Abu Dhabi, after which I finally reached my destination; Dublin. Three transits, each for only about 2 hours or so – I couldn’t travel around the airport, and I just got more and more icky and tired.

I slept an amazing 3 hours during this time. I also watched 10 movies, seeing as I couldn’t sleep, as well as finished a book. Now, I am in Ireland, having spent a day doing things, and trying not to sleep before a vaguely decent hour. It feels like it’s been at least 2 days, but in reality, due to time-shifts, it’s probably much less.

Anyway, here’s a quick rundown of the movies I saw:

1) Veronica Mars (like the film of a bad Nancy Drew comic; I think I needed to have watched the show, as it didn’t really stand alone well, and what the hell happened to the boyfriend who she was so devoted to?? Hmmph. Nancy Drew is better)

2) Most of Gravity – the flight stopped with 31 minutes to go, and it wasn’t on any of the other flight, go figure. It was okay. It wasn’t anything spectacular yet.

3) Her; a movie with Scarlett Johansson playing an artificial intelligence who is in a relationship with a mortal man, and then develops and decides to leave the physical realm. I wasn’t too sure of the ending, it was a bit…meh.

4)The Monuments Men – that one was fairly good – about a group of arts men; sculptors and curators etc, who become a team of soldiers tasked with protecting and saving artworks. Based on a true story. And – there were some funny parts too!

5) The Grand Budapest Hotel – that one was slightly wacko. And had Ralph Fiennes in it, and Jude Law – double bonus! I think it by far the best from my selection.

6) Philomena – this is an Irish drama about a woman who had an illegitimate baby and they were separated and there are evil nuns and yeah, it’s based on a book that was based on a true story, and not really my type of thing. What can I say, I gave it a try.

7) The Dallas Buyers Club – When I start hitting based on true stories, you can tell that I’m getting desperate for options. Nonetheless, I think it did quite a good job at portraying the characters as not to be sympathised with completely, nor romanticised their actions.

8) Divergent – I was pretty damn tired by this time. Yeah, it’s an okay movie. Shallow plot that was utterly predictable. Reminded me quite a bit of the Cold Awakening Trilogy by Robin Wasserman for some reason, and was overall better than I was expecting. Maybe that’s what I needed at this stage of the flight.

9) Vaterfreuden (that was a German comedy, it was quite good, I had it in subtitles. There were funny parts. Although the plot was, yeah, rather predictable again.)

10) Captain America: The Winter Soldier (yep, well, I was running out of options there, and I didn’t feel like Rio 2), making it the second time I’d seen the movie. There is a huge plothole that I don’t get. Why the hell does Hill have to shoot the heli-carrier down?? They were no longer controlled by HYDRA – they could have been gently landed and taken apart for pieces, or helped with the clean-up, or even destroyed at a later date, after Steve was off of it. Why the urgency?

There were no Agents of SHIELD episodes!!!! And no Sherlock!! Or Doctor Who!!! I was disappointed 😦 Hopefully, there’ll be a selection of movies to my liking – that I haven’t already seen – on the way back.

Why don't you tell me what you think?

